NEW MUSIC: Memoryy – Electric City


One Wham! obsession, a move to Brooklyn, a keytar tattoo, and five years later, Shaun Hettinger set his sights on crafting chillwave synth-pop in his project Kitten Berry Crunch.

Memoryy is Hettinger’s newest musical evolution. Retaining the core of Kitten Berry Crunch’s line-up (Adam Magnan on percussion, Dan Morosi on drums, & Sean Silva on bass), Memoryy ditches the tongue-in-cheek synth-pop for the sharp indie futurism found on their brand new Electric City EP. This is an album based in 1983 but written for 2013 – Equal parts Afro-pop, disco funk, electronic and ambient, the five tracks here create a sprawling musical journey for fans of Empire of the Sun, Twin Shadow, Passion Pit, Cut Copy & Phoenix.

Electric City was produced by Attiss Ngo & Davd Vasallo, and featuring the mix work of James Benjamin (Purity Ring).

Checkout “Electric City” below and hit the download button to get the track for free. You can also check out Memoryy live at Glasslands in Brooklyn, NY tonight.