L.A. based and British born Photek (aka Rupert Parkes) is the latest DJ to take on the task of putting together a DJ-Kicks compilation album and has the first crack at it in 2012.  The lastest !K7 release features four exclusive new tracks by Photek since last summer’s EP release “Aviator”
as well as efforts with Kuru and Pinch.

It seems like the trend of using those bright 80’s synth sounds in electronic music is in full swing and Photek picks some “totally rad” (sorry, had to) synth-heavy tracks to go on this compilation but mixes them in with some great dance tracks as well; the trance-like “Say Something” being one of them.

The sexy Hot Toddy track (featuring Ron Basejam) “I Need Love” is a great example of that 80’s type of feel.  The track has a driving deep bass beat but adds oodles of synth waves and runs which I thought was reminiscent of something from Daft Punk’s efforts on the “Tron Legacy” soundtrack.  That great sound continues into most of the next track which is a mix of DLX‘s “Modern Man.”  DJG’s “Bare” has a similar style to it as well and is appropriately titled due to its minimalistic opening, but then builds into a stunningly beautiful track using lots of those synth runs and that deep bass accompaniment which is a central theme throughout the compilation.

I loved the other track on the compilation from DJG, “Here Come the Dark Lights” which had more of those beautiful synth waves but was a more of a trippy, uptempo track and had a great and almost underlying deep bass melody.

There is a certain bit of dark intensity to this compilation, which I believe matches Photek’s bass heavy dubstep-leaning music perfectly, evidenced by his own glitchy and bass heavy “Azymuth.”  Overall there are a number of different styles of music represented on this DJ-Kicks compilation and he makes it work tremendously and puts it together in a very accessible package.


Tracklisting (by Artist & Title)-

1. Photek- Azymuth
2. Kromestar- In 2 Minds
3. Hot Toddy feat. Ron Basejam- I Need Love (Morgan Geist’s Love Dub)
4. DLX- Modern Man
5. DJG- Here Come The Dark Lights
6. Dustmite & Kuru- Bare
7. Photek & Pinch- M25FM
8. Photek- No Agenda
9. Baby Ford + Eon- Dead Eye (Original Version)
10. Marco- Effe Sexgas (Arnaud Le Texier Remix)
11. DJG- Say Something
12. Guy J & Miriam Vaga- No Under But You
13. Daze Maxim- Tomorrow Universe
14. Sepalcure- Taking You Back
15. Photek- Levitation
16. Photek & Kuru- Fountainhead (DJ-Kicks)
17. Synkro- Look At Yourself
18. Photek- 101 (Boddika’s Drum Machine Remix)
19. Parxe & Grincheux- The Art Of Nothing pt. 1