Cee-Lo + Jack Splash = The Heart Attack

by Winston "Stone" Ford


The Heart Attack – “Right Now”

The Heart Attack – “Gangsta Boogie”

Gnarls Barkley is soooooo early 2006…

You would think that Thomas Calloway (aka Cee-Lo Green) would rest after the success that is Gnarls Barkley. But no, the dude is still on it, recording a new album with Plantlife member Jack Splash. The new duo is working under the name The Heart Attack (or Lovestink depending on who you ask) and droppin’ some 70s soul-influenced goodness on yo ass.

“Right Now,” is a straight rip of a mid-70s soul song, while “Gangsta Boogie” is a horn-drenched dance-floor jam reminiscent of the dude’s breakout record, “Closet Freak.” This is not the life-contemplating, suicide droppin’ Cee-Lo from Gnarls. It’s a return of the feather boa, Bootsy Collins-esque Cee-Lo from Cee-Lo Green and His Perfect Imperfections.

Some lucky owners of St. Elsewhere were blessed with a 3 track Heart Attack EP (and unfortunately, I wasn’tone of them). Look for it in late 2006.

Update: The only other track on the EP is the “Crazy” Dave Ghetto remix which I’ve had for some time. Same track with an extra DG verse in the middle. I can post a link if y’all request.

  • ben v

    yes yes, great job posting the tracks, Right Now is serious contemporary disco shiat. Plus interesting ode to the Chicago Gangsters also

  • Shu Shu Clarkson

    I love the song ‘Right Now’, caught it watching ATL on DVD. Absolutely love the throwback sound. I’d love to hear ‘Crazy’ also. Thanks for posting both tracks, haven’t been able to take ‘Right Now’ off of repeat, though :D

  • Anisha D. Seals

    Hey! I’m looking for the song “Right Now”. Does anyone know where I can find it? PLEASE e-mail me and let me know! Thanks!

  • KWame

    I’m looking for that song too. I can’t find it anywhere. Please email me and let me know where I can find it.

  • Luke

    I am desperately trying to find “Right Now” ive looked everywhere!!!! please post it someone!!!

  • mickee

    I am also seeking the track “Right Now”